Laminate Abrasion Class (AC) Rating

The Abrasion Class (AC) rating system, created by the European Producers of Laminate Flooring (EPLF), is used to categorize laminate flooring by level of durability. In doing so, it helps consumers choose which type of laminate flooring would be best suited for their space. The AC rating system has five different levels, or categories, used industry-wide to classify laminate flooring - the higher the AC rating, the more durable the floor.

Moderate Residential

Laminate flooring with an AC1 Rating will perform best in low foot traffic areas in residential settings, such as bedrooms and closets.

General Residential

AC2-rated laminate flooring can withstand moderate traffic in residential settings. Generally, AC2 laminate flooring will be ideal for use in dining rooms and living rooms where it will receive low-to-medium foot traffic.

Heavy Residential/ Moderate Commercial

Suitable for use in every room in a residence, AC3-rated laminate flooring can withstand high-traffic wear and tear in a home. In addition, this category can be applied in commercial settings where traffic is light, including some rooms in offices and hotel rooms.

General Commercial

AC4-rated laminate flooring is generally used in commercial settings where traffic is higher, like a boutique or a cafe.

Heavy Commercial

As durable as they come, AC5-rated laminate flooring can withstand most commercial wear and tear, such as department stores or government buildings.